Bicolana Superstar Nora Aunor leads ‘Ani ng Dangal’ awardees


The National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) will honor awardees of the ‘Ani ng Dangal’ Awards led by the Philippine cinema’s Superstar, Ms. Nora Aunor.

The awarding ceremony which will be held on February 29, 2016 at the Samsung Hall of SM Aura in Taguig, will cap off the celebration of the National Arts Month Celebration.

The Ani ng Dangal (Harvest of Honors) Awards recognizes artists who have earned international awards and accolades during the past year.

In a press conference Thursday last week, NCCA revealed that 83 artists and works from different fields of the arts will be awarded – one for architecture and allied arts, one for broadcast arts, 45 for cinema, seven for dance, three for dramatic arts, 14 for music, and 12 for visual arts will be honored by NCCA headed by chairman Prof. Felipe M. de Leon, Jr. and OIC- executive director Adelina Suemith.

Ms. Aunor received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2015 ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards on April 11, 2015, at the Borneo Convention Centre in Kuching, Malaysia. At the same awards, Cherie Gil won the Best Actress honor for her performance in the film Sonata, and thus, will also receive an Ani ng Dangal award in the field of cinema, together with Aunor.

Other actors to be honored for cinema include Aiko Melendez, Albert Chan Paran, Allen Dizon, Benjamin Tolentino, Brillante Mendoza, Carlo Enciso Catu, Epy Quizon, Emilio Garcia, Joseph Israel Laban, Jun Robles Lana, Lemuel Lorca, Sid Lucero, Liza Diño, LJ Reyes, Louie Ignacio, Micko Laurente, Ralston Javier and Richard Gomez.

Also to be honored are the makers of award-winning films: Ang Huling Cha-Cha Ni Anita, Ari, Balikbayan #1, Bambanti, Boundary, Bwaya, Children Show, Dementia, Ekstra, In Nominee Matris, Kanlungan, K’na, the Dreamweaver, Lihis, Mana, Magkakabaung, Paraiso, Princess Urduja, Purok 7, Red Lights, Ruined Heart, Sundalong Kanin, That Thing Called Tadhana, The Waves, Wawa and Yolanda.

GMA 7’s Front Row will be feted in the broadcast arts category, while Bernardo Bernardo, Jhett Tolentino and Rachelle Ann Go will be recognized in the field of dramatic arts.

In the field of dance, the Bayanihan National Folkdance Company, Halili-Cruz School of Ballet, Jamaica France Jornacion and Lawrence Santiago, Klivert John Mendoza, Sayawatha and Upeepz enthralled international audiences with their grace, choreography and skills, earning them accolades as well as this year’s Ani ng Dangal awards.

In the field of music, the Aleron Choir, Anna Tabita Abeleda-Piquero, Ateneo Chamber Singers, Boschorale, Imusicapella, Los Cantantes de Manila, Ryan Tamondong, Triple Fret, University of Visayas Chorale, University of the Philippines Concert Chorus, University of the Philippines Manila Chorale, University of Santo Tomas Singers, Acapellago and Kammerchor Manila will be recognized for their international achievements.

For visual arts, Ana Katrina Miranda, Ananda Wisely, Herbert Bagolbagol, Jamia Mei Tolentino, Jamille Bianca Aguilar, John Herrera, Jophel Botero Ybiosa, Maria Angelica Tejada, Mandy Javillonar, Robert Anton Aparante, Ruston Banal and Trisha Co Reyes showed Filipino artistic excellence in the world, as well as Christian Salandanan in the field of architecture and allied arts.

The Ani ng Dangal Exhibit will also be mounted during the awards night, paying tribute to the awardees’ achievements and contributions by displaying their works and trophies. (PIA)

Tell us your thoughts on this article. If logged in with any of your, Twitter, Facebook, Google+, or registered on this site before, then you can simply write your comment below. Thanks and appreciate your feedback.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.