Power grid enforce interruptions in towns affected by ‘Nona’


Power grid enforce interruptions in towns affected by ‘Nona.’ Six provinces had power interruptions on Monday as the typhoon heads towards Eastern Visayas.

On Monday the National Grid Corp. of the Philippines (NGCP) said that Albay, Camarines Norte, Samar, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar and Sorsogon had power outages due to the typhoon.

In Sorsogon, the towns with brownouts are Bulan, Matnog, Sta. Magdalena, Irosin, Bulusan, Juban, Casiguran, Magallanes, Gubat, Prieto Diaz, Barcelona, Pilar, Castilla, Donsol and Bacon.

In Albay, the towns with power cuts are: Camalig, Guinobatan, Jovellar, Ligao, Pioduran, Oas, Polangui and Libon.

In Camarines Norte, the towns yet to be energized are Jose Panganiban, Capalonga, Sta. Elena and Paracale.

In Eastern Samar, the towns without power are Sulat, Taft, Can-avid, Dolores, Oras, San Policarpio, Arteche, Jipapad, Maslog, Borongan, Balangkayan, San Julian, Maydolong, Llorente, Salcedo, Guiuan, MacArthur, Hernani, Quinapundan, Giporlos, Balangiga and Lawaan.

In Northern Samar, the towns with brownouts are: Bobon, Catarman, Mondragon, San Roque, Rosario, San Jose, Lope de Vega, Allen, Victoria, San Isidro, Catubig, Gamay, Lao-ang, Pambuhan, Palapag, Las Navas and Lavezares.

In Samar, the less affected municipalities are Gandara, San Jorge, Tarangnan, Pagsanjan, Matuguinao, Calbayog City and Sta. Magarita.

Other affected lines are: 230-kilovolt Tiwi A-Daraga, 230-kV Daraga-Bacman line 1 and 2 and the 350-kV line Allen-Ormoc.

NGCP added it will inspect and restore the power lines “as soon as the weather allows.”

The grid operator assured it has implemented preparations to minimize the impact of the typhoon on its operations and facilities.

NGCP mentioned the precautions include ensuring supply of hardware materials to repair damaged facilities and positioning of line crews in strategic areas. (PNA)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *