President Aquino off to Malaysia for busy 26th ASEAN summit

MANILA, April 26 — President Benigno S. Aquino III will be busy together with other leaders in the gathering in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday for the 26th Association of Southeast Asian Nations Summit. Along with the official Philippine delegation, the president is due to arrive in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday afternoon for the summit on April 26 to 28, with nine other ASEAN leaders.

President Benigno S.Aquin, III will be off to Kula Lumpur, Malaysia this Sunday for the 26th ASEAN Summit. Photo during his speech during the celebration of the 4P's graduates of 2015.

On his first day, President Aquino will attend a gala dinner to be hosted by the Malaysian Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak for all ASEAN leaders and their delegations in the venue at Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre.

On Monday, President Aquino will join in the opening ceremony of the summit, afterwards the leaders in plenary session will discuss and exchange views on the establishment of the ASEAN Community; ASEAN Community’s Post-2015 Vision; and external relations and future direction.

On the same day, Mr.Aquino will also attend separate meetings with representatives from the ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly, Business Advisory Council, youth and civil society organizations.

After the meetings, all ASEAN leaders will fly to Langkawi island, off the mainland coast of northwestern Malaysia, for the retreat session of the summit. President Aquino will also attend the closing ceremony of the summit. A barbecue dinner hosted by Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak and spouse Datin Paduka Seri Rosmah Mansor, will cap Aquino’s second day.

The President will join other heads of state for the 11th Brunei-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East Asian Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) Summit on Tuesday, before departing for Manila.

The staff and entourage of Mr. Aquino includes Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert Del Rosario, Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima, Trade Secretary Gregory Domingo, Cabinet Secretary Jose Rene Almendras, Social Welfare Secretary Corazon Soiman, Communications Secretary Herminio Coloma Jr., Presidential Management Staff Chief Julia Abad, NEDA Director General Arsenio Balisacan, and Mindanao Development Authority Chairperson Luwalhati Antonino.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *