Now there are 10 deputy speakers in the House of Representatives

2015_0522_BatasangPambansa267: The august House of Representatives, Batasan Pambansa building façade.

The House of Representatives is nearing its target of filling up the 12 seats for deputy speakers.

On Monday, the second batch of deputy speakers were elected composed by Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, Aambis Owa Rep. Sharon Garin, Cebu Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia, Davao City Rep. Mylene Garcia Albano, and Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano.

During the Auguast 15 session, the new officers took their oath at the plenary hall.

Much earlier, the lower house elected the initial five deputies representing political parties led by those in the supermajority bloc which include Eric Singson from the ruling Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban), Raneo Abu from the Nacionalista Party (NP), Fredenil Castro from the National Unity Party (NUP), Romero Quimbo from the Liberal Party (LP), and Mercedes Alvarez from the Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC).

Two more deputy speakers will be appointed to complete the target number of 12 to symbolically signify the 12 federal states being strongly proposed by President Rodrigo Duterte under a parliamentary form and federal state of governance.

Based on the preceeding names and personalities, the Bicol region is wanting of representation here, maybe one of the remaining and vacant two seats?

It gives us the impression that the House of Representatives is a market of political ideas, but also where positions are handed out as a token of appreciation for being butt bootlickers.

Image: The august House of Representative, Batasan Pambansa building façade.

  • Now there are 10 deputy speakers in the House of Representatives


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *