Malacanang suspends classes, gov’t work for Monday


MANILA, Dec. 8 — Malacanang announced the suspension of classes and work in government offices Monday in Metro Manila and Southern Luzon.

Deputy Presidential Spokesperson Abigail Valte, in a statement, said, “By authority of the President (Benigno Aquino III), classes at all levels and work in government offices have been suspended by Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa, Jr. for today, December 8, 2014, except for those agencies whose work involves the delivery of basic and health services, disaster response, and other vital public services.”

The following areas are covered by the suspension in government offices: Regions IV-A, IV-B, and the National Capital Region (NCR).

For the private sector, Valte said, discretion to suspend work lies with the individual companies and employers.

“We urge (private) employers to consider the circumstances of their employees brought about by the effects of Typhoon ‘Ruby’,” she said.

The Supreme Court also announced that courts in Metro Manila, Regions 4A and 4B will not have work today (Dec. 8).

The statement is a reiteration of yesterday’s notice, below, that several areas across the country announced suspension of classes due to Typhoon “Ruby” (international name: Hagupit).

Classes in all levels are suspended December 8 in the following areas in the National Capital Region (NCR): Cities of Las Pinas, Makati, Malabon, Mandaluyong, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas, Paranaque, Pasay, Pasig, Pateros, Quezon City, San Juan and Valenzuela.

Classes from preschool to high school are suspended in Caloocan City.

Provinces including Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Cavite, Cebu, Laguna, Oriental Mindoro, Quezon and Rizal also announced suspension of classes in all levels.

Only elementary and high school classes are cancelled in Romblon Province.

Taguig City and Batangas province both declared December 8 as a special non-working holiday.

Meanwhile, some cities and towns in certain parts of the country also announced suspension of classes in all levels including Carcar City, Cebu; Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro; Lapu-lapu City, Cebu; and Mandaue City, Cebu.

Only preschool to high scool classes are declared suspended in Palawan towns such as Coron, Culion, Busuanga and Palawan. (PNA)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *