Ilocos Norte honors homegrown heroes than any province of the country

LAOAG CITY, March 16 – Among the 81 provinces of the country, Ilocos Norte may be the first to have honored more homegrown heroes through the years.

The second batch were honored with five more monuments of Ilocano heroes unveiled Tuesday at the Heroes Walk in Centennial Arena of Laoag City. Governor Imee Marcos and Laoag City Mayor Chevylle Fariñas jointly cut the ceremonial ribbon of the second batch of homegrown heroes.


The newly-unveiled shrines include Pedro Bukaneg, father of Ilocano literature; Pedro Mateo and Saralogo Ambaristo, leaders of the Basi Revolt 1807; Valentin Diaz, treasurer and co-founder of the Katipunan; and Jacinto Caoili, poet and author of famous literary works such as ‘Pasyon’ and ‘Urbana at Felisa”.

The first batch in the Ilocano Heroes Shrine was inaugurated in December 2013 during the celebration of the Tan-ok ni Ilocano Festival of Festivals.

The monuments were built in honor of the late President Ferdinand Marcos; Gregorio Aglipay, founder of the Philippine Independent Church; Josefa Llanes Escoda, founder of the Girl Scouts of the Philippines; General Artemio Ricarte, father of the Philippine Army; Juan Luna, the first global Filipino painter; General Antonio Luna, general of the Revolution and founder of the Philippine Military Academy; Teofilo Yldefonso, first Philippine Olympian; Anastacia Giron Tupaz, founder of the Philippine Nursing Profession; and Severino Montano, a nationalist playwright.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *