NAPOLCOM release verdict on police officers involved in Maguindanao massacre


The National Police Commission (Napolcom) has come out with the final verdict on the 62 police officers involved in the 57 victims of Maguindanao massacre on Nov. 23, 2009 in Sitio Malating, Barangay Salman, Ampatuan, Maguindanao.

The 23-page decision dated Nov. 24, 2015 signed by the Commission en banc chaired by Interior Secretary and Napolcom Chairman Mel Senen S. Sarmiento resolved the administrative case filed against the 62 police officers assigned at the various units of Police Regional Office-Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

The Commission found substantial evidence that the gruesome murders of the 57 victims were carried out by Datu Andal Ampatuan Jr. and the men acting under his interest and direction.

It was established that the respondents were culpable for being co-conspirators with Datu Andal Jr. and his men, either by their direct action or inaction.

Dismissed from the service for grave misconduct are: P/Supt. Abusama Mundas Maguid, P/CInsp. Zukarno Adil Dicay, P/Insp. Rex Ariel Tabao Diongon, P/Insp. Michael Joy Ines Macaraeg, SPO2 Badawi Piang Bakal, SPO1 Eduardo Hermo Ong, PO3 Rasid Tolentino Anton, PO3 Felix Escala Enate Jr., PO3 Abibudin Sambuay Abdulgani, PO3 Hamad Michael Nana, PO2 Saudiar Ubo Ulah, PO2 Saudi Pompong Pasutan,

PO1 Herich Manisi Amaba, PO1 Michael Juanitas Madsig, PO1 Abdullah Samma Baguadatu, PO1 Pia Sulay Kamidon, PO1 Esprilieto Giano Lejarso, PO1 Esmael Manuel Guialal, PO1 Narkou Duloan Mascud and PO1 Rainer Tan Ebus. P/Insp. Saudi Matabalao Mokamad was dismissed from the service for serious neglect of duty and less grave neglect of duty.

The 20 respondents were held liable for opting to become silent spectators to a crime unfolding before their very eyes. Their inaction manifests complicity and unity of action to those who committed the abduction, and later the murders, themselves. They conspired with Andal Ampatuan Jr. and his armed men in carrying out the massacre of the 57 victims.

P/Insp. Saudi Matabalao Mokamad was found guilty for failing to take command in an emergency when he simply dismissed the gunshots he heard instead of investigating the matter being the highest ranking police officer in the area. He was also held liable for his failure to inform higher officers about the gunshots he heard.

The Napolcom found 11 respondents guilty of less grave neglect of duty and were ordered suspended for 59 days. They are: SPO1 Ali Mluk Solano, PO2 Kendatu Salem Rakim, PO1 Benedick Tentiao Alfonso, PO1 Abdurahman Said Batarasa, PO1 Marjul Tarulan Julkadi, PO1 Datu Jerry Mluk Utto, PO1 Mohamad Karim Balading, PO1 Marsman Eging Nilong, PO1 Abdulmanan Lumbabao Saavedra, PO3 Felix Abado Daquilos and PO1 Jimmy Mlah Kadtong. They were held liable for paying no attention and simply ignoring the gunshots they heard 30 minutes after the convoy of the Mangudadatus passed their checkpoint.

Twenty-one respondents were exonerated since the Commission found no sufficient evidence to prove their culpability, namely: P/Supt. Bahnarin Unas Kamaong, P/Supt. Abdulwahid Unas Pedtucasan, P/SInsp. Abdulgapor Benasing Abad, SPO2 George Sermonia Labayan, SPO2 Samad Usman Maguindra, SPO1 Oscar Dariua Donato, SPO1 Elizer Sarad Rendaje, SPO1 Alimola Guianaton Langalen,

PO3 Gibrael Rojas Alano, PO3 Ricky Duya Balanueco, PO2 Rexson Diocolano Guiama, PO1 Amir Maliwanang Solaiman, PO1 Badjun Ibad Panegas, PO1 Sandy Diloyodin Sabang, PO1 Johann Mansal Draper, PO1 Tamano Sahibal Hadi, PO1 Ebara Guiamalon Bebot, PO1 Pendatun Ambang Dima, PO1 Michael Macapeges Macorongon and PO1 Abdulbayan Usman Mundas.

PO2 Hernani Saulong Decipulo Jr. was exonerated by reason of his death.

The Commission dismissed the complaint against the following nine respondents for lack of jurisdiction without prejudice to the revival of the case in the event that they will be restored to full duty status: PO2 Tanny Awal Dalgan, PO1 Ysmael Nalaunan Baraguir, PO1 Abbey Akmad Guiadem, PO1 Warden Kusain Legawan, PO1 Jonathan Solaiman Engid, PO1 Datunot Mangelen Kadir, PO1 Arnulfo Ayunan Soriano, PO1 Joharto Silongan Kamendan and PO1 Anwear Damaudtang Masukat.

“Although the Napolcom found sufficient evidence to establish the liability of some of the respondents, we were constrained to dismiss the case against them because they either had gone on absence without official leave or had been dropped from the rolls prior to the institution of the administrative complaint on March 10, 2010,” Escueta said.

Escueta said that the joint complaint for grave misconduct against the 62 respondents was filed by the relatives of the media personalities and journalists who were murdered along with the relatives and supporters of then Buluan, Maguindanao Vice Mayor Esmael Mangudadatu on Nov. 23, 2009.


One thought on “NAPOLCOM release verdict on police officers involved in Maguindanao massacre”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *