Comelec Disqualifies Party-List Ako Bicol in the May 2013 Election

The Commission on Elections today announced the disqualification of party-list Ako Bicol from participating in the coming May 2013 mid-term election.

It must be recalled during the 2010 general election, the Bicol party-list received about 1.5 million votes enough for three seats of their nominees in the House of Representatives.

Despite questions surrounding the qualifications of Ako Bicol nominees, the 2nd Division of Comelec proclaimed Rodel Batocabe, Christopher Co and Alfredo Garbin Jr., legitimate winners of the 2010 election.

Although the party-list group was disqualified, the three congressmen of Ako Bicol will stay and finish their term until June 2013.


3 thoughts on “Comelec Disqualifies Party-List Ako Bicol in the May 2013 Election”

  1. In the news, the Supreme Court on Wednesday (Nov. 14), stopped the Comelec from disqualifying eight party-list groups from running in the May 2013 elections. Last Tuesday, the high tribunal ordered the poll body to maintain the status quo for party-list groups Ako Bicol, APEC, 1CARE, and ARC. Yesterdad, it released the resolution in relation to the disqualification of eight party-list groups to include AKMA-PTM, KAKUSA, ARARO, and ARAL. The SC consolidated all petitions, thus the increase in the number of party-list groups included in its resolution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *