7 provinces under Signal 3 as Typhoon Glenda maintains strength


Seven provinces are now under public storm signal No. 3 as typhoon “Glenda” has maintained its strength and continues to move westward towards Bicol region, according to the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) on Tuesday.

Public storm signal No. 3 (winds of 101-185 kilometers per hour is expected in at least 18 hours) has been raised over Catanduanes, Albay, Sorsogon, Camarines Sur, Burias and Ticao Islands and Northern Samar.

Public storm signal 2 (61-100 kph winds is expected in at least 24 hrs) are Camarines Norte, Masbate, Marinduque, Quezon including Polilio Island, Batangas, Laguna, Cavite, Rizal, Bulacan, Metro Manila, Samar and Eastern Samar.

Public storm warning signal 1 (30-60 kph winds is expected in at least 36 hours) is hoisted over Romblon, Oriental and Occidental Mindoro, Lubang island, Pampanga, Bataan, Zambales, Tarlac, Nueva Ecija, Pangasinan, Quirino, Nueva Vizcaya, Benguet, La Union, Aurora, northern Leyte including Biliran island.

Residents in low-lying and mountainous areas under signals 3, 2, and 1 are alerted against possible flashfloods and landslides. Likewise, those living in coastal areas under signal 3 and 2 are alerted against storm surges.

AS typhoon Glenda continues to move westward at 20 kph. it is expected to make landfall over Albay-Sorsogon area by Tuesday evening between 6 p.m. to 8 p.m..


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *