Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges Now A State College

Newsdig coverage by

Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges-Naga city campus is now known as the Bicol State College of Applied Sciences and Technology thru Republic Act 10231 last October 19.

The law grants autonomy to the school as it is officially separated from the Camarines Sur State Polytechnic Colleges in Nabua. It now attains mandate to pursue higher levels of endeavor and (sic) touted as the first educational institution in the country offering applied sciences and technology.

The Bicol State College’s (BSCAST) newly-appointed officer in charge Dr. Richard Cordial Ph.D., takes the lead in ensuring all of these endeavors will be met by coming up with a strategic plan for the next five years. The state college is currently embarking on the construction of a 3-storey library which will serve as a repository of statistics and data necessary for extensive research in enhancing science and technology in the region. The project costs P25M.

BSCAST will continue the technical-vocational element of its predecessor, the Bicol College of Arts and Trade (BCAT), which was formerly the Camarines Sur National College of Arts and Trade.

Meanwhile, the Catanduanes State College was converted to Catanduanes State University under RA number 10229, also on October 19, 2012. CSU has its main campus in the capital town of Virac with a satellite campus in Panganiban town. The institution continues its task to provide advanced education, higher technological and professional instruction; and training on trade, commerce, fishery, agriculture, arts and sciences, industrial technology and nursing.

As of this writing, the Bicol region now has ten universities, four of which are state-owned which include the Bicol University in Daraga and satellite campuses in Albay, Partido State University in Goa and satellite campuses in the Partido district of Camarines Sur, the Central Bicol State University of Agriculture in Pili/Calabanga/Sipocot/Pasacao in Camarines Sur and the newest, the Catanduanes State University.

Private universities include three in Naga city- University of Nueva Caceres, Ateneo De Naga University, Unibersidad de Sta. Isabel; two in Iriga city- University of Saint Anthony and University of Northeastern Philippines, and the Aquinas University in Legazpi city. (The PIA contributed to this report).

3 thoughts on “Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges Now A State College”

  1. Even while the Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges-Naga campus was still a part of the main in Nabua, already the public learning isntitution is a STATE college. The actual efffect of the new law was merely dis-engaging the Naga campus from Nabua into a separate entity. The way the press release was written somehow impressed that the Naga campus was “NOT” a state college. Just to clarify. (Our editor should have read into this.) Also noticed that lawmakers did spent great deals of “conversions” of the named schools. Sa hinalaba-laba kan prusisyon sa simbahan man palan an uli. What a waste of session times and money on the government all these years.

  2. Some of the articles and news posts here are noted by the editor with the Latin adverb “sic” if only to highlight that the statement may not be true or absurd. In this case here: BSCAST “sic” as the first educational institution in the country offering applied sciences and technology, is not true. For what is then the Catanduanes State University and the other institutions already established before, in other parts of the Philippines?

Tell us your thoughts on this article. If logged in with any of your, Twitter, Facebook, Google+, or registered on this site before, then you can simply write your comment below. Thanks and appreciate your feedback.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.