Wow, Metro Manila can fit into Davao City four times

The City of Davao and the national Capital Region compared. Map illustration drawn not into scale.

We know for a fact that the biggest city in the Philippines in terms of land area is Davao, in Davao region down south in Mindanao. It has a land area of 2,443.61 square kilometers with 1,449,296 population.

We also know that the biggest, contiguous urban center in the country is Metro Manila, also known as the National Capital Region. It has a land area of 638.55 square kilometers with a burgeoning population of 11,855,975 as of the 2010 official census.

Wow, Metro Manila can fit into Davao City four times! (Actually, 3.82 to be exact.)

The biggest province of the Philippines is the island group of Palawan with a land area of 14,649.73 square kilometers and a population of 771,667.

By coincidence, the smallest province is the island group of Batanes with an area of 219.01 square kilometers and a population of 16,604.

Batanes can fit almost 67 (or as many as 66.69) times into Palawan!

The biggest grouping of provinces into region is the Cagayan Valley, up north. It is composed of the provinces of Cagayan, Isabela, Quirino, Nueva Vizcaya and Batanes. It has a total area of 31,159.28 square kilometers and 3,229,163 population.

The smallest region in the country is the NCR.

Metro Manila can fit almost 49 (or 48.8 to be exact) times into Cagayan Valley!

Have something to add to this? Share it on comments below.

Tell us your thoughts on this article. If logged in with any of your, Twitter, Facebook, Google+, or registered on this site before, then you can simply write your comment below. Thanks and appreciate your feedback.